Are you searching for a life changing book?

I am a voracious reader. I seldom go anywhere without a book in my hand. I am constantly scanning best-seller lists looking for new authors to read.

A few months ago a friend loaned me a copy of just such a book…new author (to me, anyway), New York Times best-seller list, tantalizing cover and back copy, lots of good reviews on Amazon, and these intriguing words on the cover “the kind of book that can be life changing“. Wow! This looks really good!

I usually can read a book in a day or so, but I had a hard time getting into this story. I think it was the unusual narrative style. When I finally got past the first few chapters, I found it was a well-written story and I enjoyed it.  (In this rare instance, the eventual movie was much better than the book.)

When I returned the book to my friend, she asked how I liked it.  I told her I had enjoyed the story, but contrary to the bold promise on the cover, I did not find it a “life changing” book.  It was just a good read, not even a book I would read again.

It is no exaggeration to say that the only truly “life changing” book I have ever read is the Bible.  The best-seller of all time.  My life has been transformed by the fixed and immutable message within its pages.  The Bible contains the Word of God written for all mankind.  It is the best kind of love story.  A story of sin (failure) and redemption.  It is the story of a Creator who so loved His creation that He gave us the freedom to choose whether to love and worship Him.  And when we inevitably sin and turn away from God, His love compels Him to wait patiently for our return.  He not only gives us the freedom to choose, He provided the Way to return to right relationship by sending Jesus to die on the cross and take the punishment for our sins. Once I understood from the pages of the Bible, the depths of God’s love for me and the sacrifice He made by sending Jesus to die on the cross for my sins and accepted this sacrifice on my behalf, my life was forever transformed.

My life would be completely different today without the wisdom of God’s Word.   I would be lost and lonely, angry and bitter. My life would be without purpose.

If you are searching for a “life changing” book, search no further.  This book has changed millions of lives throughout history. I encourage you to find a modern translation of the Bible and begin with the book of John in the New Testament.  Let God speak to your heart.  Ask Him for understanding as you read.  Welcome home.

Leave a Reply

