LIFE INTERRUPTED

I had the best laid plans for how the last few months were supposed to go.  The best of intentions for accomplishing my goals.  Then, life happened.

Increased stress at my regular job that pays the bills, overflowed into my personal life.  We were short-staffed and facing deadlines.  I was stressed and distracted.

Technical difficulties and heartbreak ensued when my home computer crashed taking with it all my personal photos and many family history documents I had collected over the years.

Ongoing computer difficulties made it impossible at times to check email, social media, post blogs or work on my book manuscript.

Health issues robbed me of energy and motivation.

Concerns for my sweet mother who at almost 92 years of age is becoming more frail, but finds it difficult to accept help, consumed my thoughts.

I was tired.  Worn down.  Beat.  I lost my motivation.  I got off track.

Thankfully, I have found my passion for life returning and along with it my determination that no matter what, I will continue to work toward my goals.

What changed?  I made a conscious effort to take my eyes off my circumstances and all the things that were wrong with my life, and focus on the good.  Great times of worship at church, along with great teaching from our pastor pointed me back to my Savior.  Praying with my husband each day brings a peace to my soul.  Listening to Christian music reminded me that God cares for me and has a plan for my life.  Remembering that His plans are always better than my own, has helped me to let go of my timeline for when things should happen and to trust Him for the outcome.  I am a work in progress, but I am feeling more and more motivated to work toward my goals and excited about the future, whatever it brings.

Has that ever happened to you?  What do you do when “life happens” to derail your plans?

Leave a Reply

