L’Arche Farm and Gardens – Growing People, Growing Plants

Janice and friend at The Farm L’Arche Farm and Gardens is an awesome organization in Tacoma, Washington that provides employment to the developmentally disabled. They work on the farm and in the greenhouse and grow plants and vegetables. They make wreaths at Christmas time, work in the craft shop making handmade paper, and sell their wares at the local Farmer’s Market. The staff and volunteers are wonderful. My younger sister Janice worked there for over twenty years. It was a wonderful experience for Janice and she was very proud to be earning a paycheck. She was a great worker, as our parents instilled a great work ethic in all their children, no matter our abilities or disabilities. No excuses! Janice had to retire a few years ago due to increasing medical problems. It was a real loss for her, and I think for her teammates at L’Arche Farm and Gardens, too.
Recently I contacted the Program Manager at L’Arche Farm and Gardens to ask permission to reprint one of their newsletter articles about Janice. I was pleasantly surprised at the sweet response I got back inquiring about how Janice and my mother were doing. (I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised, because this is just the kind of people that run Farm and Gardens.) They also graciously granted me permission to reprint their article. Warmed by their response, I asked if it would be possible for me to bring my mother and Janice out to the Farm for a visit some time, and they welcomed us to stop by for a visit. When I told Janice her immediate response was, “When can we go?” She will probably drive mom and I a little crazy until we get her out there for a visit, but that’s okay with me. I love seeing her excitement.
If you live in the Tacoma area, stop by and check them out. If you are looking for a worthy place to make a charitable donation, you can’t go wrong with L’Arche Farm and Gardens. Check out their website for lots of great pictures and information. http://www.larchethc.org/FarmGardens/FarmGardens.html

Leave a Reply

